The Nine Schools

Kuryuha Kanji

The Bujinkan is an amalgamation of nine schools (Kuryuha) of both Ninjutsu (unconventional) and Bujutsu (standard) martial arts. Where conventional martial arts leave off the study of Ninjutsu begins as a continuation. During our training we will cover the forms (Kata) and feelings from each of the nine schools. Each school or Ryu has its own flavor or style of applying unarmed and armed techniques. Each one of the nine Ryu has a large curriculum of techniques and a rich heritage of philosophical as well as martial teachings which span back over 2000 years of history. All of the nine schools teach Jissen Gata (real fighting forms) and have been used on the battlefield during war times. The forms contained in these schools are as valid in our day and age as they were centuries ago. This is because the forms are always being applied to current times and have been updated as time progresses and trends change in history.

One must be cautious when entering into Kata training that you guard against becoming a collector of techniques. As you study form (Kata) you must also study variations (Henka) and then practical applications (Tekiyo). We do this Kata, Henka, Tekiyo process of training to discover the feeling or spirit of the form, not just to memorize set forms and movements. The empty memorizing of forms is lifeless and leads you away from the true spirit of martial arts. Hatsumi Sensei year after year teaches how to discover the feeling and spirit of true martial arts by throwing away techniques and forms to become zero. This leads to the discovery of the Shinshin Shingan (Mind and Eyes of God). You must grow to understand that the feelings inside the techniques are more important then the techniques themselves. This is the flavor of the Bujinkan and Hatsumi Sensei’s teachings.

  • Togakure Ryū Ninpō Taijutsu 戸隠流忍法体術
  • Gyokko Ryū Kosshijutsu 玉虎流骨指術
  • Koto Ryū Koppōjutsu 虎倒流骨法術
  • Kukishinden Happō Bikenjutsu 九鬼神伝流八法秘剣術
  • Shinden Fudo Ryū Dakentaijutsu 神伝不動流打拳体術
  • Takagi Yoshin Ryū Jūtaijutsu 高木揚心流柔体術
  • Gikan Ryū Koppōjutsu 義鑑流骨法術
  • Gyokushin Ryū Ninpō 玉心流忍法
  • Kumogakure Ryū Ninpō 雲隠流忍法
Scroll to Top